top of page

MODULE 1.2: Cognitive Development






Reflect on your process of learning and development and recall instances where they are explained by cognitive development theories.


As a working adult, my learning process can be best described and understood through the lens of Vygotsky's theories. Vygotsky's sociocultural theory highlights the crucial role of social interaction and culture in shaping the development of cognitive abilities. This theory is particularly relevant to my learning experiences in the workplace, as I have found that collaborating and interacting with others has helped me to acquire new skills and knowledge, and to develop a deeper understanding of the tasks and challenges that I face in my job. Furthermore, Vygotsky's theory emphasizes the importance of cultural context in shaping cognitive development, which is particularly relevant in today's globalized and diverse workplace environments.

  1. Collaborative learning: According to Vygotsky, learning occurs through social interaction and collaboration with others. In the workplace, this can be achieved through activities such as team projects, mentoring, and coaching. When I began my career, the training process was structured in a way that allowed me to gradually develop my skills and knowledge. During my first month, I underwent initial training, which was followed by an immersion period in the second month where I was trained by mentors who were specific to the accounts I was working on. After completing the mentoring stage, I participated in monthly coaching sessions with my supervisors to ensure that my learning and career goals were aligned and on track. This provided me with a clear path for growth and development within the company.

  2. Zone of proximal development: Vygotsky's theory suggests that learning occurs when individuals are challenged to perform tasks that are just beyond their current level of competence. In the workplace, this was achieved through opportunities provided for me to take on new roles and responsibilities or to learn new skills. When I was transferred to a new account, I had to quickly adapt to new skills and Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs). To keep up with the demands of the job and to continuously improve our skills, we were required to complete monthly self-paced video training that was available on LinkedIn Learning. These pieces of training helped us stay up-to-date with the latest industry trends and advancements and allowed us to acquire new skills and knowledge that were relevant to our roles.

  3. Language and communication: According to Vygotsky, language plays a critical role in cognitive development. In the workplace, effective communication is essential for learning and collaboration. Open communication and collaboration with my colleagues are vital components of my learning and development in the workplace, particularly given the current work-from-home setup where we only go to the office five days a month. It is essential for me to be receptive to seeking help from my colleagues when I encounter new processes or issues that I have not yet learned to resolve. Being open to their guidance and support enables me to deepen my understanding of the work I am doing, learn new skills, and ultimately achieve my career goals.

  4. Culture and context: Vygotsky's theory emphasizes the role of culture and context in shaping cognitive development. In the workplace, I am exposed to a range of cultural and social influences, which can impact my learning and development because I work with Canadians, Russians, and Brazilians and my Filipino colleagues have also come from different provinces with different sub-culture.

How can you optimize your learning further using cognitive development theories?


Optimizing my learning is essential to achieve my academic and career goals. Cognitive development theories can provide insights on how to do this, and here are some ways I can apply these theories to optimize my learning:

  1. Utilize active learning strategies: According to cognitive development theories, active learning strategies, such as problem-solving and critical thinking, are more effective than passive learning. By engaging in discussions, group activities, and case analyses, I can apply the concepts and theories I learn in class to real-world situations, deepen my understanding of the material, and improve my retention and recall of information.

  2. Create a supportive learning environment: Cognitive development theories emphasize the importance of a supportive learning environment in promoting cognitive growth. As a working student with kids, I can create a supportive learning environment by finding a quiet and comfortable place to study, minimizing distractions, and setting achievable goals that align with my learning needs and schedule. I can also seek support from my family, friends, and peers to encourage and motivate me throughout my learning journey.

  3. Reflect on my learning: Cognitive development theories suggest that reflection is a critical component of learning. By regularly reflecting on my learning progress, identifying areas for improvement, and setting new goals, I can optimize my learning and enhance my cognitive development. This can be achieved through journaling, self-assessments, and seeking feedback from my professors and peers.

  4. Use technology to enhance learning: Cognitive development theories suggest that technology can be an effective tool for promoting cognitive growth. As a working student with kids, I can use technology to access online resources, collaborate with peers, and participate in virtual learning activities. This can help me to stay engaged and connected with my learning community, and to maximize my learning opportunities even outside of the classroom.

By applying these cognitive development theories to my learning as a working student with kids, I can optimize my learning and achieve my academic and career goals.





References

Cognitive Health and Older Adults | National Institute on Aging. (n.d.). National Institute on Aging. Retrieved April 9, 2023, from https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/cognitive-health-and-older-adults

Jean Piaget - The goal of education is not to increase the... (n.d.). Brainy Quote. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/jean_piaget_751077

Legg, T. J. (2020, March 24). Zone of Proximal Development Relation to Children's Education. Healthline. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://www.healthline.com/health/zone-of-proximal-development#stages

Lev Vygotsky. (n.d.). Wikipedia. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lev_Vygotsky

Lev Vygotsky Quotes - BrainyQuote. (n.d.). Brainy Quote. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://www.brainyquote.com/authors/lev-vygotsky-quotes

Mcleod, S. (2023, April 3). Vygotsky's Sociocultural Theory of Cognitive Development. Simply Psychology. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://simplypsychology.org/vygotsky.html

Mcleod, S. (2023, April 4). Piaget Stages of Development & Cognitive Theory. Simply Psychology. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://simplypsychology.org/piaget.html

Overstreet, L. (n.d.). Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development | Lifespan Development. Lumen Learning. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://courses.lumenlearning.com/wm-lifespandevelopment/chapter/cognitive-development-2/

Park, D. C., & Bischof, G. N. (2013). The aging mind: neuroplasticity in response to cognitive training. NCBI. Retrieved April 9, 2023, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3622463/

Piaget, J. (2023, March 14). Jean Piaget | Biography, Theory, & Facts | Britannica. Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://www.britannica.com/biography/Jean-Piaget

Salthouse, T. A. (2014). Aging and measures of processing speed. PubMed. Retrieved April 9, 2023, from https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11035219/

Scaffolding - SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT THEORY BY VYGOTSKY - GROUP: MOCKINGJAY. (n.d.). Google Sites. Retrieved April 8, 2023, from https://sites.google.com/site/qim501eiddmockingjay/announcements


Comments


IMG_8156.jpg

An old soul just trying to find her way through the matrix.

I'm Misty. I'm a student of Bachelor of Studies from the University of the Philippines Open University. This blog is a snippet of how my mind works and what my heart speaks of. Feel free to agree or disagree. :)

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page