top of page

Module 1.1: Bio-Physical Processes










When I was a child, growing up with my mother means hearing about her “opinions” on other people. She was very vocal about her views and beliefs on various topics that we read or hear about in the news or even whenever we talk. Growing up, I would always hear her say that one should act his/ her age. For example, when you are in your 30s and up, you should dress up according to your age. Be more conservative and you should always wear your hair according to what is deemed appropriate for your age. On the other hand, if you are still a teenager, you should not wear make-up or wear clothes that are considered for adults. I have never really understood her because I was only around 8 or 9 years old. And, I would just follow whatever she would tell me to wear. But, after reading the modules in the past lesson, my point of view on this matter was confirmed. When I reached my mid-30s, my views on this matter started to change. I believe that there’s no such thing as a definitive definition of what you should be at a certain age. After I studied this module, it only confirmed my thoughts that one’s development is non-linear. It’s like a journey that sometimes you make a stopover, or you would have to go back and retrace your steps when you get lost. I now understand that some people do not act their “age” because of so many factors that happened through the years. A person who is in their 50s or 60s decides to go back to school perhaps because they didn’t have the financial capacity or time to do so in the years that they were supposed to go to school.



The moment that had a really significant mark while I was studying the modules is the possible health repercussions if I don’t really take care of my body. I am not a physically active person. I’m more of a nerdy, homebody type. I’ve always felt like exercising is too tiring for me. I tried walking around our area for an hour, but I wasn’t able to follow through because there are too many people outside. It made me anxious because whenever I’m outside, I’m always hypervigilant and always very aware of my surroundings. Walking outside made me physically and mentally exhausted. So, I decided to try home workouts. But, I felt like I’m missing out on playing with my toddler whenever I spend time working out. I know. So many excuses. After reading these modules, I came to realize that I really need to work on my body to ensure that I’m healthy enough to see my future grandchildren. Also, the excuses that I make are just in my mind and I have to overcome them.


In what ways have new perspectives on physical development allowed me to explain the way I am in terms of my cognitive performance and psycho-social and emotional states and responses?


New perspectives on physical development have allowed me to understand how the brain and body develop from infancy to adulthood. This knowledge has provided insights into how my cognitive performance and psycho-social and emotional states and responses are interconnected.


According to research, the habits that we demonstrate in our early adulthood greatly impact our overall health later in adulthood. I see this every day between me and my partner. I am 9 years older, but he complains more about his health than I do. I am 39 years old and he is 30 years old but I am healthier than him mainly because during his teenage and early adulthood years, he was into sports but he was also into a lot of vices. Whereas, during my teenage and early adulthood years, I was busy studying and working. Although I didn’t have a lot of exercise at that time, my work required me to do a lot of physical activities because I was a service crew and at my university, I had to do a lot of walking just to get to my classes.


I also realized that genetics also played a huge role in my cognitive performance and psycho-social and emotional states and responses. My parents were in their early 20s when they got married and had children. In our current trend, it’s too early. Most people these days who are in their early 20s have just graduated college and are busy with their careers or enjoying their freedom as much as they can. After studying the modules, I realized that my genes also played some part in my getting married and having kids in my early 20s, too. Also, I learned I also inherited the way I socialize and respond to emotional triggers from my mother and father. My father, like me, doesn’t socialize that much and is content with spending time with family and hobbies like gardening, reading, or watching movies. Whereas, my mother, like me, is easily triggered emotionally by topics or situations that she feels strongly about.





Comments


IMG_8156.jpg

An old soul just trying to find her way through the matrix.

I'm Misty. I'm a student of Bachelor of Studies from the University of the Philippines Open University. This blog is a snippet of how my mind works and what my heart speaks of. Feel free to agree or disagree. :)

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page